Untitled Page

Vascular Surgery Research Day

group photo
from left to right- Bradley Strauss, K. Wayne Johnston, Lewis Schwartz, Thomas Lindsay, and George Oreopoulos

Vascular Surgery Research Day was held at Hart House on June 21 2013. The theme was innovation, clinical applications and basic research. There were seven presentations by residents from both general surgery and vascular surgery programmes.

Lewis Schwartz spoke on “The Development of Bioresorbable Intravascular Scaffolds” and “Medical Innovation”. Dr. Schwartz is a Vascular Surgeon at The University of Chicago where for ten years he maintained an academic practice in vascular surgery as well as conducted federally-funded research in the fields of vascular biology, rheology and gene therapy. In 2003, he joined Abbott Laboratories as Global Medical Director for Thrombolysis, Global Pharmaceutical Research and Development, then was named Divisional Vice President of the fledgling vascular device division in 2004. Dr. Schwartz’ most recent position is Vice President, Global Device Development for Hospira, Inc., the world’s leading manufacturer of generic injectable pharmaceuticals and infusion pumps. He remains associated with the University of Chicago’s Division of Vascular Surgery.

The second guest lecturer was Bradley Strauss who spoke on “Crossing Innovation Barriers: The Collagenase Journey through Chronic Total Occlusions. He is Chief of the Schulich Heart Program and Head of the Division of Cardiology at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre. He holds the Reichmann Chair in Cardiovascular Research, and is a Professor of Medicine and Professor of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology at the University of Toronto.

group photo
from left to right- Ahmed Kayssi, Luis Figueroa-Gallaga, Varun Kapila

The judges, Thomas Lindsay, George Oreopoulos, Lewis Schwartz and Bradley Strauss, chose Ahmed Kayssi and Sydney Wong as the first and second prize winners.

Following the research day, the graduating residents and fellows were given their certificates by George Oreopoulos and Thomas Lindsay. This included Varun Kapila who graduated from the Royal College 5+2 Vascular Surgery Programme and Luis Figueroa-Gallaga who has completed two years’ as a foreign fellow and will be joining the Royal College stream in July 2013. Michael Delbridge completed a one year fellowship programme and is returning to the UK to take up a staff position in the National Health Service.

George Oreopoulos awarded K. Wayne Johnston the Best Lecturer in the resident research seminar series, as voted by the trainees.

Thomas Lindsay
Chair, Vascular Surgery Division

Skip Navigation Links