Untitled Page

Honours & Awards

Subodh Verma (CardSurg) was selected by the fourth year class as this year's Silver Shovel Chute Award winner - an award presented annually to the undergraduate teacher who is deemed to have demonstrated excellence in overall clinical teaching in the undergraduate medical program. Subodh is also the recipient of the 2010 University of Toronto George-Armstrong Peters Prize.

Bobby Yanagawa (CardSurg) won the 13th Annual C. Walton Lillehei Resident Forum Award at the 2010 American Association for Thoracic Surgery annual meeting in Toronto, Ontario for his paper "BRCA1 is a novel regulator of cardiac function via altering myocardial substrate utilization and mitochondrial bioenergetics" (Supervisor: Subodh Verma).

Gilbert Tang (CardSurg) was selected as the 2009 Edward B. Diethrich Vascular Surgical Society North American travelling fellow. Gilbert spent 3 weeks at the University of Leipzig Heart Center in January 2010 studying transcatheter valves and minimally invasive valve surgery. He was invited to present his fellowship experience at the International Congress on Endovascular Interventions in Scottsdale, Arizona in February 2010.

Gilbert also received the inaugural 2009 UofT Postgraduate Trainee Award for Leadership and Teaching Excellence.

Gilbert is the recipient of the 2010 Canadian Cardiovascular Society (CCS) Trainee Excellence in Education Award. It acknowledges a CCS Member-in- Training for extraordinary accomplishment in all aspects of medical education in any of the cardiovascular fields.

He has also been awarded a Physician Services Incorporated (PSI) research grant ($20,000) for the project entitled: Neuregulin and Endothelial Dysfunction (supervisor: Subodh Verma). This is Gilbert's third PSI grant award.

Eisar Al Sukhni (GenSurg) received a General Surgery Resident Research Initiation Grant from the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (value $20,000).

Luke Szobota (GenSurg) achieved 2nd place on the 2010 Resident in Training Examination for 2nd year residents from the Examinations Committee and the Board of the Canadian Association of General Surgeons. He will receive a cheque and a recognition plaque at the Canadian Surgery Forum in Quebec City during the Surgical Jeopardy portion of the Program on Friday, September 3, 2010.

James Rutka (NeurSurg) delivered the Penfield Lecture at the Canadian Neurological Science Federation Congress on June 9th, 2010 in Quebec City.

Charles H. Tator (NeurSurg)was awarded the Canadian Neurosurgical Society's Lifetime Achievement Award at the Canadian Neurological Science Federation Congress meeting on June 10, 2010.

Scellig Stone (NeurSurg) won the KG McKenzie Memorial Prize for Basic Science Research at the 2010 CNSF Annual Meeting June 8-11, Halifax, Nova Scotia.

D.J. Cook (NeurSurg) won the fist prize in the Gallie- Bateman Competition for best resident research paper and presentation at the Annual Gallie Day on May 7th.

Farhad Pirouzmand (NeurSurg) won the AR Hudson Annual Teaching Award for the Faculty, Ryan DeMarchi for the residents and David Cadotte won the Warren Ho Memorial Scholarship.

Betty Kim (NeurSurg) received the 2010 Sopman Humanitarian Award.

Clement Hamani (NeurSurg) was elected as a board member of the American Society for Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery.

Michael G. Fehlings (NeurSurg) has been awarded a Hansj�rg Wyss Foundation Award from AOSpine International for the project "A cellular and molecular strategy to unlock the regenerative reservoir of the notochordal cell: A novel approach to treat intervertebral disc degeneration".

Michael has also been awarded a 2-year grant from the Physicians' Services Incorporated Foundation for a research project entitled, "A bioengineered approach to enhance recovery following severe traumatic spinal cord injury".

Michael Taylor (NeurSurg) received a 3 year renewal from the Canadian Institutes of Health, Clinician Scientist Phase II Award.

Peter Ferguson (OrthoSurg) won the 2010 Aikins award. This award is one of the most prestigious awards in our entire Faculty for sustained commitment to excellence in undergraduate teaching. This teaching award is given serious consideration in the academic promotions process.

Ali Zahrai - PGY 5 orthopaedic resident received the JA Nutter award for best paper presentation at the 2010 Canadian Orthopaedic Residents Association meeting in Edmonton His paper was titled "Quality Of Life And Educational Benefit Among Orthopedic Surgery Residents: A Prospective, Multi-Centre Comparison Of The Night Float And The Standard Call Systems"

Tatiana Cypel (PlasSurg) won this year's McMurrich Award presented at Gallie Day held on May 7th, 2010 (supervisor Christopher Forrest and Co-Supervisors Cho Pang, Peter Dirks and Iona Leong). Her study "In Vitro Assessment of Osteoblast Behavior in Craniosynostosis" enhanced the excellent research in Cho Pang and Chris Forrest's laboratories.

Darius Bagli (UrolSurg) with Co-PIs Conny Tolg, and Armando Lorenzo received a grant from the PSI Foundation (2010-2012) for a clinical study entitled: "Uropathogenic E.coli infection-induced alterations of the uroepithelial cell epigenome as a marker for urinary tract infection risk".

Urology resident Ahmed Haddad and Darius Bagli (Division of Urology) were awarded a Society for Pediatric Urology grant (2010-2011) for their study entitled: "Establishing Biological Rationale for Preoperative Androgens in Hypospadias Surgery - Initial Human Studies in Vitro"

Barry Rubin(VascSurg) was awarded the Lister Prize in Surgery, the Department's highest research award given to a senior investigator. He has also received three independent molecular biology operating grants from CIHR: Role of Group V and Group X secretory phospholipases A2 in myocardial infarction ($428,342); Role of Group V and Group X secretory phospholipase A2 in the innate immune responses to pulmonary bacterial infection ($388,520) and Role of microsomal prostaglandin E2 synthase in ventricular remodeling after myocardial infarction ($368,820)


We apologize for the error in the John Edward de Toro Scholarship award announcement from last issue which should read:

Siba Haykal (Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery) was awarded the John Edward De Toro Scholarship", University of Toronto.

Skip Navigation Links