Untitled Page

Grants & Fellowships

Michael Fehlings (NeurSurg) was awarded two grants from the Spinal Cord Injury Solutions Network / Rick Hansen Foundation for his work on: 1. "From research to clinic, the translational step with functional magnetic resonance imaging of the human spinal cord; and 2. "Economic evaluation of early surgical decompression for traumatic cervical spinal cord injury".

Michael was also selected to receive the "Outcomes Award" from the AANS/CNS Section on Disorders of the Spine and Peripheral Nerves for his paper entitled "Key predictors of outcome in patients undergoing surgical treatment for cervical spondylotic myelopathy: Analysis of a prospective multicenter study in 285 patients with a 1 year follow-up".

Michael also received an award from the Cervical Spine Research Society for his project entitled "Economic impact of early surgical decompression after traumatic cervical SCI: Cost-effectiveness and cost-utility analyses using Ontario-based health costing data".

Paul Marks (OrthSurg) with co-PI Caroline Hoemann, Ecole Polytechnique, Montreal, have received a strategic NSERC grant of $450,000 over 3 three years for their study entitled "Restoration of joint function through subchondral delivery of therapeutics".

Markku Nousiainen (OrthSurg) has received the 2008 Canadian Orthopaedic Research Legacy award, sponsored by Angiotech, for his project entitled "Training femoral neck screw insertion skills to surgical trainees: Computer assisted surgery versus conventional fluoroscopic technique".

Mitesh Badiwala (CardSurg Resident) has been awarded the Edward Christie Stevens Fellowship and the Chisholm Memorial Fellowship, both from the Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto.

Gregory Hawryluk (NeurSurg Resident) received a Resident/Fellow grant from the Cervical Spine Research Society for his work entitled, "Defining neural precursor cell-host interactions to optimize repair of traumatic spinal cord injury".

Skip Navigation Links