The Department of Surgery – A new image

One of the elements of initiating a new academic brand is the creation of an image or logo which embodies the vision and mission of the Department.

The 2012 Bill Bigelow Lecturer Thoralf Sundt emphasized Bill’s interest in the relationship of the mind and body to the practice of medicine, as well of the importance of teaching “the limits of what we know”, a touching reference to the intellectual humility of this brilliant surgeon.
Richard Reznick brought the surgical community and the Ontario government together in 2009 to establish a coordinated Bariatric Surgery program.
Sunnybrook Surgeon-in Chief Avery Nathens is taking the University’s Trauma Program to the next level, while building on Robin Richards’ work and fulfilling the academic mandate of the Hospital.
Orthopaedic surgery resident Caroline Scott. She likes trauma, sports medicine and pediatrics, all recent rotations in the orthopedics competency-based curriculum, while continuing to play hockey with the Orthopaedics Division in the men's league
In his Peters Prize Lecture, Teodor Grantcharov, this year’s winner, told us about his study results that clearly confirmed the effectiveness of simulation training in shortening the learning curves for surgical trainees.
The Department of Surgery continues to grow with expansion of the number of trainees in many of the surgical specialties, as forty-three new residents have entered the department.
In Memoriam: Dr. Hugh G. Thomson

New Appointments: Avery Nathens, Christopher Compeau, Ralph Gilbert

Workshops for mid-career faculty
Paulo Koeberle (Anatomy) was awarded tenure at the rank of Associate Professor

Sawata Deb (CardSurg) won the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship

Fuad Moussa (CardSurg) received his Masters Degree in Medical Education from the University of Dundee

Hugh Scully (CardSurg) is the first physician to be elected to Membership in the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame

Skip Navigation Links